Yorkston / Thorne / Khan have released a track trailing their third album.

‘Westlin’ Winds’ is taken from ‘Navarasa : Nine Emotions’, due for release on January 24th 2020, via Domino Records.

The new album follows up 2016’s debut ‘Everything Sacred’ and its successor, ‘Neuk Wight Delhi All-Stars’ which came out the following year.

The trio – James Yorkston (guitar/nyckelharpa/vocals), Jon Thorne (double-bass/vocals), and Suhail Yusuf Khan (sarangi/vocals) – will launch the release at a Celtic connections show in Glasgow in January in advance of a March Scottish tour.

As ever with recordings from the trio, a cross-cultural theme emerges – the single goes from Robert Burns’ poem ‘Now Westlin Winds, (And Slaught’ring Guns)’ before transforming into a composition in Purbi (a dialect of old Hindi) by poet-philosopher Hazrat Amir Khusrau.

Album tracklisting:
1. Sukhe Phool
2. The Shearing’s Not For You
3. Thumri Bhairavi
4. Westlin’ Winds
5. Song for Oddur
6. The North Carr
7. Twa Brothers
8. Waliyan Da Raja
9. Darbari

Upcoming Yorkston/Thorne/Khan Scottish live dates:
22nd January – Celtic Connections @ Drygate Brewery, Glasgow – Album Launch
21st March – CatStrand, New Galloway Tickets
22nd March – Summerhall, Edinburgh Tickets
23rd March – Perth Theatre, Perth Tickets
24th March – Eden Court, Inverness Tickets
25th March – The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore Tickets
26th March – The Barn, Banchory Tickets
27th March – Tolbooth, Stirling Tickets
28th March – Eastgate Theatre, Peebles Tickets

More at www.yorkstonthornekhan.com