Viva Stereo release a compilation album, on their own Much Better Records

‘You’re Not Committed to the Company: Selected Works 2002-2010’ is available to download from iTunes/Amazon etc or stream on Spotify.

The 20 tracks were recorded variously at Diving Bell Studios with Marcus Mackay, Chem19 with Paul Savage, and with Brendan O’Hare at Demon Box.

The band released four album from 2004-2010, collaborating with the likes of King Creosote, My Latest Novel, Pictish Trail, Lonely Tourist and Malcolm Middleton.

They describe the tracks making up this ‘best of’ as being drawn from a back catalogue “lost in time amidst of drunken nights out, Nice n’ Sleazy gig listings from 2005 and the fear of Monday mornings.”

The band also say that the compilation has been released for “no apparent reason apart from it felt like the right time”, adding in typical self-effacingly manner that the songs are “now out there on modern day platforms to be forever put in the ‘under 1000 plays” category on Spotify'”, adding that “maybe one day, someone will stumble upon it and hear that, when you condensed those 4 albums into one, there were some cracking songs.

Sadly for fans of the Falkirk quartet, there seems little chance of a comeback launch show, with the band scattered across Europe – Rob McKinlay in Fort William, and working under his Paper Machine Music moniker, Tim Troup escaping the “shitstorm of the UK and Brexit” by moving to Oslo, Stuart Gray residing in Leicester and with the fourth Children of Leir album due this year, and Doug Hendry, although still resident in Scotland’s central belt, “remains elusive”.

Jesus Son
Try Harder
Night Owl
New Life
She Can Do No Harm (featuring Candythief)
When the Tourniquet Comes Undone (Featuring King Creosote)
Knee High Boots
You’re Not Committed to the Company
Endure the Dark to See the Stars (Featuring Rob Waddington – Ambrose Tompkins)
Last Living Hope (Featuring Chris Deveney – My Latest Novel)
Theres a Riot Goin’ On
Patterns of Behaviour (Featuring Tara Mascara – Language of Flowers)
Come See the View (featuring Pictish Trail)
Quiescence (Featuring Lonely Tourist)
Copper Wire
We Set Sail

More at