Travis release a new single ‘Valentine’, on the BMG label.

It’s a taster of their ninth studio album, ‘10 Songs’ which is due out on October 9th which is available to preorder now, and follows up recent single ‘A Ghost’, and ‘Kissing in the Wind’ – the latter released at the end of 2019, having originally featured in the 2018 documentary ‘Almost Fashionable: A Film About Travis’.

The single and album were-produced by both frontman Fran Healy and Robin Baynton (Coldplay, Florence & The Machine), and recorded at RAK Studios at the end of last year. A limited-edition 10’ vinyl of the song, with artwork etched on the flip side by the artist Douglas Gordon, is available from the band’s store.

Apart from the band’s four members – Healy, Andy Dunlop, Dougie Payne, and Neil Primrose – musicians featuring on the new album include Grandaddy’s Jason Lytle on synth, lap steel from Greg Leisz (Beck, Emmylou Harris, Bruce Springsteen) and vocals from Susanna Hoffs of The Bangles, following a chance exchange on Twitter.

Healy says of ’10 Songs’: “There’s a song on the record called ‘Butterflies’. And that’s really how I think about songwriting. These things are floating around. And you have to be very quiet, and be very quick, and be very respectful. You catch them, you look at them for a little while, and then you set them free again. And that’s the whole point of songs. That’s the point of songwriting.”

The album will be available on CD, heavyweight vinyl plus Deluxe 2CD and Deluxe 2LP (red and blue vinyl) including ten demos. Also available in the band’s official store will be exclusive merch bundles, including cassettes and limited edition signed editions.

‘10 Songs’- Track Listing
Waving At The Window
The Only Thing (feat. Susanna Hoffs)
A Million Hearts
A Ghost
All Fall Down
Kissing In The Wind
Nina’s Song
No Love Lost

More at