Transelement release their debut album ‘Rural Tunings’. via Creeping Bent – nearly twenty years after it was recorded.

The Lancashire trio – formed in school by Jay Stanfield and Karl Eden (vocals / guitars / synths) and Mark Tattersall (drums / machines / tapes) – recorded the album in 2001 for released on Glasgow label Creeping Bent that year.

The 14 tunes were recorded, under the moniker Element, on a broken 4-track tape machine – which resulted in an experimental feel which appealed to the label’s Douglas MacIntyre, who was at the time running the home to Alan Vega & Revolutionary Corps of Teenage Jesus, The Leopards, The Nectarine No9, The Secret Goldfish and Adventures in Stereo, from his base in Mount Florida.

However, despite the band recording two sessions in the space of a few months for John Peel, and releasing track for the Creeping Bent Singles Club (‘Lord Aparts’) and a mini-album, ‘Sour Blaster’, the ‘new’ release did not see the light of day, until now, nearly twenty years since its completion.

Label boss MacIntyre said of the album: “The label was doing well, we had just curated our own stage at Meltdown Festival in London and all our groups were recording Peel Sessions, so we weren’t really looking to sign anyone new at the time…

“It is undoubtedly one of my favourite Creeping Bent releases so I’m pleased to be finally letting this album escape into the omniverse”.

‘Rural Tunings’ track listing:

01. ‘Marlybourne Rusk’
02. ‘Booda Fly’
03. ‘Valentino Morriazzi’
04. ‘Lost In An Eiderdown’
05. ‘Bone Marrow Winky’
06. ‘Crackt Ol’ Cupboard’
07. ‘September In Edinburgh’
08. ‘Dusty & Brown’
09. ‘Dancing Dogs’
10. ‘Turban Paper’
11. ‘Old Martyr Horses’
12. ‘Past Twelve Theme Tune’
13. ‘Faberge’
14. ‘Chainmail’

More at /