The Yummy Fur have returned with the release of a new ‘best of’ compilation album.

‘Piggy Wings’ is available now on Mogwai’s Rock Action label on LP, CD download and streaming.

The band, which went through multiple lineups but with singer John McKeown a constant member, recorded three albums: Night Club (1996), Male Shadow at Three O’Clock (1998) and Sexy World (1999). The album’s 14 tracks are drawn from across the yummy Fur’s existence from 1992 – 1999, featuring songs from these three long-players as well as a succession of out-of-print singles.

After the band split in 1999, McKeown formed the 1990s, signing to Rough Trade, whilst drummer Paul Thomson and floating member Alex Kapranos formed Franz Ferdinand.

The reformed band sees McKeown and Thomson reunited, along with long-time lead guitarist Brian McDougall, plus the addition of bassist Dino Bardot, currently of Franz Ferdinand and a one-time 1990s bandmate of McKeown.

The band have one UK show, at Rough Trade East, and will also play at Glasgow’s QMU on November 22nd with Fat White Family.

‘Piggy Wings’ tracklist:

1. Department
2. Plastic Cowboy
3. In The Company Of Women
4. Kirsty Cooper
5. The Canadian Flag
6. Roxy Girls
7. Sexy World
8. Policeman
9. St John of the Cross
10. The Career Saver
11. Supermarket
12. Colonel Blimp
13. Chinese Bookie
14. Death Club

More at