The New Mendicants – side project for both Teenage Fanclub’s Norman Blake and Joe Pernice (Pernice Brothers) – have released their debut EP for One Little Indian.

The band formed following Blake’s stay in Toronto, where he got together with local Joe Pernice, the trio then being completed by drummer Mike Belisky of The Sadies.

The six track ‘Australia 2013’ EP (One Little Indian, 8th July) boasts three new compositions – ‘Follow You Down’, ‘Sarasota’, and ‘High on the Skyline’ – as well as versions of Teenage Fanclub’s ‘I Don’t Want Control Of You’ and The Pernice Brothers ‘Amazing Glow’. There’s also an INXS cover, of ‘This Time’.

The band are now recording a debut album together for release in early 2014.