The National Jazz Trio Of Scotland release an album, ‘Standards Vol. IV’ on the Karaoke Kalk label.

The brainchild of Bill Wells, the band are neither a trio, or strictly jazz, but while they aren’t approved by central government as their name may imply, Wells and his cohorts are based in Scotland. Oh, and we’d not bother trying to find volumes 1-3 either…

Previous works from the band have featured various vocalists, but the new album features single lead vocalist Kate Sudgen. Future releases will feature former Otterly frontman Gerard Black, as well as Aby Vulliamy.

The new long player is the latest in a series of collaborative efforts from Wells. In 2012, he won the inaugural Scottish Album Of The Year award for ‘Everything’s Getting Older’, which saw him work with Arab Strap’s Aidan Moffat. This was followed by ‘The Most Important Place In The World’.

In 2011 he released Lemondale, recorded with Japan-based musicians including Jim O’Rourke and Saya of Tenniscoats, and four years later, he assembled a cast of musicians including Annette Peacock and Yo La Tengo for ‘Nursery Rhymes’ which were children’s songs, even if the release explored the ‘darker side’.

Jad Fair, V-Twin, Stefan Schneider and Isobel Campbell are among the other artists that the Falkirk-based musician has worked with.

The album can be obtained from The National Jazz Trio Of Scotland bandcamp page.

Track list:

1. Quick To Judge (Don’t Be So)
2. Anticipated Sentence
3. Move
4. Heaven Knows
5. Passing By
6. Tinnitus Lullaby
7. Summer’s Edge – Alternate Mix
8. Intro To Sog
9. Sog
10. Permanent Dream
11. A Quiet Life
12. Far From You