Scottish lo-fi legends The Hector Collectors release a new single, ‘Edgelords’.

The new tune is the lead track from ‘Remember The Hector Collectors?… You Won’t Believe What They Sound Like Now!’ – the band’s first-ever full-length studio album, due for release thus autumn.

Like the long-player the single is available via Puzzled Aardvark Records, as a download, and comes with B-side ‘Indiepop Wedding’, which will not appear on the album.

The album’s release date is on 28th September and will be available on vinyl and digital download and is already available for preorder at

The single, like the other 11 tracks on the album, was recorded mostly in 2017 and 2018 in 16Ohm Studios with Tommy Duffin.

The band – formed by Iain and Adam Smith (no relation) – first emerged in in 2001 with their first (home recorded) album ‘Straight Outta Comprehensive’, and as well as enthusiastic reviews also received radio play from John Peel.

The group then split up in 2004 following the ‘Dollification’ EP, as band members went
off to pursue other projects, including: The Just Joans, Danananakroyd, the Plimptons and Camera Obscura.

The current lineup of the band sees the Smiths joined on drums by Gavin Dunbar (Camera Obscura) and on bass Joseph Greatorex (The Hussy’s, The Martial Arts, Colin’s Godson).

The album also features a plethora of showbiz guest stars (it says here) from bands such as How To Swim, The Paraffins and Gums!