Stirling act The Fakes release a new EP, ‘Black Apple’., on NewTown Products.

It’s the first new material from the quartet in 40 years, and just their second release,

There are three tunes on the 7″ vinyl single – the new title track, plus ‘Ootsider’, plus a reworked version of ‘Wallpaper’, originally written in 1979. The EP is limited to 500 copies, although it is also available as a digital download.

The band, originally from Stirling, released just one EP in 1979, ‘Production’, on Deep Cuts Records – the label run by Johnny Waller of Kingdom Come fanzine, which also put out the debut by The Visitors.

However, the band disbanded after drummer Brian Kemp was tragically killed in a motorcycle accident.

The new 2020 line-up features original members Johnny McGuire on vocals and Jimmy McEgg on bass, with William Baird replacing Mairi Ross on guitar, and Lee McPhail on drums.

The band plan the release of their debut album later this year. More at