Teenage Fanclub release a new single, ‘Home’, via their own label PeMa in the UK and Europe and Merge in the US.

The Christmas Day release comes from the band’s forthcoming album ‘Endless Arcade’, due out on March 5th 2021. Available to pre-order now, it comes on translucent green, pink or clear vinyl, as well as on CD and limited cassette.
The 12 track effort will be the band’s tenth studio album, following up ‘Here’ from 2016, their first Top 10 album since 1997.

‘Endless Arcade’ is also their first long-player without founding member, bassist Gerard Love (who left in 2018) and the first to feature Euros Childs out of Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, who joined the Glasgow act the same year.

Of the album, Raymond McGinley says: “I think of an endless arcade as a city that you can wander through, with a sense of mystery, an imaginary one that goes on forever…”.

“When it came to choosing an album title, it seemed to have something for this collection of songs.”

“The process is much the same as it always has been,” the guitarist continues. “In 1989 we went into a studio in Glasgow to make our first LP. Francis starts setting up his drums, the rest of us find our spots around him and off we go. Thirty years later Francis is setting up his drums in Clouds Hill Recordings in Hamburg.

“A few hours later we’re recording the first song. We don’t conceptualise, we don’t talk about it, we just do it. Each of us are thinking our own thoughts, but we don’t do much externalising. We just feel our way into it.”

Aside from McGinley and fellow founding member Norman Blake, featured are Dave McGowan – who has playing with the band 2004 but taking on bass in the past couple of years – and original drummer Francis Macdonald, now back in the fold following various sticksmen including Brendan O’Hare and Paul Quinn filling the stool over the years.

“We were very comfortable with each other in the studio,” says Blake of the new release’s recording process. “I think some of the playing is a bit freer and looser than on recent albums. Dave and Euros’ playing is amazing, and Francis on drums is really swinging.

“The whole process of making this album was very invigorating. Everyone in the band contributed a lot and the song arrangements came together really quickly. Everything felt fresh.”

Track listing:

1. Home
2. Endless Arcade
3. Warm Embrace
4. Everything Is Falling Apart
5. The Sun Won’t Shine On Me
6. Come With Me
7. In Our Dreams
8. I’m More Inclined
9. Back In The Day
10. The Future
11. Living With You
12. Silent Song

The video for ‘Home’ was shot by Donald Milne at Edinburgh’s Leith Theatre, and the album’s artwork is by Huw Evans, aka musician H. Hawkline, a friend of Childs. “It’s amazing,” McGinley says, “we absolutely love it!”

The band are now planning another new album since they will be unable to tour ‘Endless Arcade’ on its February release.

More at teenagefanclub.com.