Steve Adey releases his third album, ‘Do Me A Kindness’, on Grand Harmonium Records.

It’s the Birmingham-born, Edinburgh-based singer’s third studio album, and contains nine cover songs plus an adaptation of a poem by Hermann Hesse.

The album, available on CD, vinyl and digital download, marks Adey’s first release in four years, following on from ‘The Tower of Silence’.

‘Do Me A Kindness’ was recorded in a 19th century Edinburgh church, with further tracking and mixing at Steve’s home studio utilising mostly vintage equipment.

No computers were used in the recording process, which also involved former Khaya vocalist Helena MacGilp assembling a six-piece vocal group for several songs on the album.

Originally intended as an EP, the songs were a break from writing and recording his third full-length album of original material – still a work in progress.


1. The Unsigned Painting/Sense of Doubt – Rickie Lee Jones, David Bowie
2. The Devil – P J Harvey
3. Everyday Is Like Sunday – Morrissey
4. To Cry About – Mary Margaret O’Hara
5. God Is in the House – Nick Cave
6. I Want You – Bob Dylan
7. Over – Portishead
8. Murderer – Low
9. How Heavy the Days – Hermann Hesse, Steve Adey
10. River Guard – Smog