Scott Twynholmreleases a new album, ‘Tekstura’, via Blurred Recordings.

It’s his most recent full-length recording since his score to Luke Pell’s ‘In The Ink Dark‘ was released in 2019.

Three singles, ‘The Noise He Kept So Quiet’, ‘Ostranenie’, and ‘Prelude in E minor’, were digitally released in 2020.

The Paisley-born keyboard player was a professional electronic musician for a decade before studying study classical piano and qualifying as a Master of Music in Composition from Glasgow University in 2019 under the tutelage of composer William Sweeney.

Previously, Twynholm was part of Looper, the act formed by Stuart David of Belle and Sebastian. He also released solo records under the name Metrovavan, whose first release was single of the month in Record Collector Magazine, and was a member of electro act Hoboken.

HIs band songs have appeared in various films including Palme d’Or nominated ‘The Edukators’ and Cameron Crow’s ‘Vanilla Sky’, while he has also written film scores such as ‘Alasdair Gray, A Life In Progress’ (released on De-Fence Records) as well as for multi-media artist Rachel Maclean’s 2018 feature ‘Make Me Up’, which premiered at the BFI London Film Festival.

Twynholm plays all instruments on the album including piano, accordion, organ, and guitar, apart from violin and viola, contributed by Fiona Brice, a Bella Union-signed violinist who was a full-time member of Placebo, and cellist Alice Allen, who has performed at the BBC Proms as well as across Europe and India.

The album’s 10 tracks were recorded in The Backroom Studio at Barclay Curle House in Glasgow, apart from strings recorded by Tony Doogan at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow.

More at, and read a review here.