Rachel Aggs releases her debut solo album ‘0202 Visitations’, via Lost Map.

Ordinarily one half of SAY Award-winners Sacred Paws, as well as part of Trash Kit and Shopping, Aggs’ 12-track long-player was recorded as the fifth in a series of sessions for the Eigg-based label, as part of its subscription series.

Aggs, originally part of the DIY scene in London, moved to Glasgow in mid-2019 following a long-distance musical relationship with Sacred Paws bandmate Eilidh Rodgers.

The second series of V I S I T ▲ T I O N S is a three-part set of special limited-edition releases, written and recorded in in a bothy at the label’s Hebridean home.

Recorded on Eigg during the final week of August 2019, Aggs added guitar, violin, laptop and a drum machine to found sounds from around her island base to create a diary of songs and instrumental pieces, which expanded into an entire album’s worth of material.

Completing the series later in the year will be a similar release from Rozi Plain – like its predecessors released on a choice of either 12” vinyl (with download), or download-only package, exclusively as part of Lost Map’s subscription service.

Aggs’ new album follows the release earlier this year of ‘V I S I T ▲ T I O N S 0201’ by Arthur King – a revolving collective of musicians, visual artists and filmmakers based in Los Angeles, including Grandaddy Jason Lytle, and who recorded their album on Eigg in the week leading up to Lost Map’s Howlin’ Fling festival in the summer of 2019.

‘Visitations 0202’ tracklisting:

Side A
1. Aaah
2. New Beat
3. At The Table
4. Fiddle Pluck
5. Hours Away
6. Land Of The Living

Side B
7. Into The Sea
8. Waters Rising
9. Walking Home
10. Thrill Seeker
11. Sleep Pattern
12. Be The One

A new episode of the Lost Map Podcast, featuring an interview with Rachel Aggs, is available now.

More at lostmap.com.