Pete MacLeod releases a new album, ‘Walk To The Light’.

The Coatbridge-raised singer-songwriter’s third long-player was produced by Youth. The former Killing Joke man plays bass on several songs, while Simon Tong (The Verve, Gorillaz) and James McCartney (solo artist and son of Paul) also feature, as does Andy Bell out of Ride / Oasis.

The new release follows up 2016’s ‘Crestfallen’, which was also produced by Youth, and which itself succeeded his debut, ‘Rolling Stone’, which appeared in 2013 on 359 Music, the label set up by Creation Records founder Alan McGee.

MacLeod had previously spent several years living in California before returning home to release an EP entitled ‘Glasgow Keeps Me Real, California Lets Me Heal’ in early 2013.

Describing the lyrical content of the new record, MacLeod says: “I went a little deeper and darker with some of the songs, although the emphasis is more a spiritual one in regard to the overall feel.

“My belief is that no matter what you are going through it’s important not to doubt yourself and others but instead ‘walk to the light’. Get through the tunnel. Take it all in and not be frightened of what may lie ahead.

“We will all leave here one day and also lose others while we are here, but my attitude is that I welcome the experiences I’ve had. I also welcome the unknown and the overall journey.”

MacLeod plats a November tour to promote the new release:

03.11.18 GLASGOW Hug And Pint
09.11.18 GREENOCK The Albany
16.11.18 SHEFFIELD Record Junkee
18.11.18 MINEHEAD Shiiine On
19.11.18 MANCHESTER Jimmy’s
20.11.18 NEWCASTLE The Globe

More at /