Modern Studies and Tommy Perman release a collaborative album, ‘Emergent Slow Arcs’.

On Fire Records – who put out the Modern Studies second long-player ‘Welcome Strangers’ – the eight-track release comes on 12″ vinyl with a unique hand-cut sleeve, limited to 500 copies.

The quartet – songwriter Emily Scott, Pete Harvey (King Creosote, The Leg), Joe Smillie (also boss of Glasgow’s The Glad Cafe) and Rob St. John – recorded the album at Harvey’s Pumpkinfield studio in rural Perthshire through 2017.

The original record was remixed largely on spec by designer, sound artist and arranger Perman – member of Found and member of BAFTA-award winning sound sculpture Cybraphon, who also operates under the Surface Pressure moniker.

Fortunately the speculative reworking met with the foursome’s approval, and is now available via Fire Records.

Track list:
1. ephemeris mist
2. faraway hills
3. celestial dance
4. moonshot
5. ghost skies
6. spectral cannon
7. edgeland duet
8. sunup shutdown