Modern Studies release their third album, ‘The Weight Of The Sun’, via Fire Records.

The quartet – principal songwriters Emily Scott and Rob St John, plus Pete Harvey and Joe Smillie – recorded the long-player at Harvey’s Perthshire studio, Pumpkinfield.

The 12 tracks include previous singles ‘Heavy Water’ and ‘Run For Cover‘ video here

Of the album’s meditative feel, Glasgow-based Scott says: “A lot of life was lived in the last two years… perhaps we’re showing a rawer, truer connection to things. I feel, and hope, when listening, that the overriding sense is joyful, though.”

St John agrees. “This is an attempt to weave something hopeful from it all.”

The follow-up to ‘Swell To Great’ (2016) and ‘Welcome Strangers’ (2018) is available on limited edition deluxe Dinked ‘Sunburst Splatter’ vinyl, LP and CD.

Track listing:
1. Photograph
2. Run For Cover
3. Heavy Water
4. She
5. Corridors
6. Signs Of Use
7. Brother
8. The Blue Of Distance
9. Back To The City
10. Jacqueline
11. Spaces
12. Shape Of Light

More at