Michael Timmons releases his second album ‘The Lightness of the Dread’, via Gargleblast Records.

The 11 track long-player, which includes recent singles ‘Mercury Sills’ and ’10 Days Before You Died’, follows up the East Kilbride singer-songwriter’s debut from 2018, ‘Bone Coloured‘, which received airplay from the likes of Steve Lamacq and Tom Robinson.

Like its predecessor the new album was produced by Andy Miller (Songs: Ohia, Life Without Buildings, Mogwai, Arab Strap) but this time with additional input from “Backseat Driver” Andy MacFarlane of The Twilight Sad.

Also contributing to the recording are De Rosa’s Neil Woodside on drums / percussion, Susan Appelbe plays cello, and one-time Amplifico vocalist Donna Maciocia adds piano to opening track ‘Town Hall’.

Of ‘The Lightness of the Dread’, Timmons says: “The album centres around the on-going process of grief”. (‘Mercury Sills’ follows the death of his father).

“It’s hopeful but not exactly full of laughter, at times it swings between death and dancing”.

Timmons’ next live date is a headline show at King Tut’s in Glasgow on March 26th.

‘The Lightness of the Dread’ is available to download now, with a vinyl edition coming in April. More at www.facebook.com/MichaelTimmonsMusic.