Glasgow-based singer-songwriter Jim McAteer releases his debut album ‘Here Be Dragons’.

Including the single ‘In Love With Every Atom’, the 12 tracks are available as a CD, as well as a Bandcamp download.

The Glasgow is a stalwart of the local music scene, particularly prominent at open mics, and the album comes largely thanks to his supporters, with various members of Belle and Sebastian, BMX Bandits and Trembling Bells persuading McAteer to finally record his songs.

The album was recorded with a core band of friends including Graham McGeoch on violin, bassist Mike Fowler, Patrick Coyle on guitar, Stephan Mors on drums, and Solveig Gjul Askvik who contributes violin as well as vocals.

There are also vocals provided by Flore De Hoog, Leïla Forissier, Gerry Lyons, and Mark Rafferty, while additional musicians chip in – Caroline Hussey on accordion, Jim McGrath playing mandolin and guitar, and Ali Hendry on trumpet.

Recorded by Mike Fowler (On The Corner), who also mixed and mastered the release, along with Sam Smith (Green Door) and Ibán Pérez, while production was handled by McAteer and McAteer and Mike Fowler along with Richard Bull.

The CD comes with artwork by Solveig Gjul Askvik; the singer’s birthmark re-imagined as an island – “still smiling despite the dragons lurking in the surrounding waters.”

The album also comes endorsed by This Is The Kit aka Kate Stables, who said: “Jim McAteer has a new album out and it’s a beauty (as is also the amazing album artwork!) have a listen to ‘In Love With Every Atom’ and see if it doesn’t give you hope x”

More at