The ‘missing’ album from Jazzateers, ‘Blood Is Sweeter Than Honey’, gets its official release via Creeping Bent,, as deluxe gatefold 180g vinyl and download editions.

Active during the first half of the 1980s the band formed part of the ‘Sound of Young Scotland’, which encompassed the acts on Postcard Records, to which they signed. The band’s Edwyn Collins-produced cover of a Donna Summer song, ‘Wasted’, was scheduled as the final release of the label, but Postcard Records folded. Label boss Alan Horne subsequently produced a Jazzateers album, ‘Lee’, but it too remains unreleased.

After the demise of Postcard, Jazzateers followed labelmates GoBetweens and Aztec Camera by signing to Rough Trade, finally releasing an eponymously-titled debut album in 1983. However, the band then transformed into Bourgie Bourgie, signing a deal with major label MCA. Despite a couple of minor chart placings with singles ‘Breaking Point’ and ‘Careless’, the album they recorded was also unreleased, the band splitting up soon afterwards.

Jazzateers then reactivated, but with new vocalist Matt Willcock joining and taking over lyrical input – songwriting duties having previously been performed by core members Ian Burgoyne and Keith Band, and vocals being supplied by a variety of singers – Alison Gourlay, the Rutkowski Sisters, Hipsway’s Grahame Skinner, as well as Quinn). The new lineup – which released one solitary single, ‘Pressing On’ – also incorporated guitarists Mick Slaven and Douglas Macintyre, plus Altered Images’ Stephen Lironi, all of whom were part of the band’s final lineup.