Idlewild release a new single, ‘Dream Variations’, taken from a new album, ‘Interview Music’

The long-player is due for release on 5th April via Empty Words which is available to pre-order.

The new single can be streamed via Spotify as well as YouTube (below).

The new material follows up 2015’s Everything Ever Written, which itself was the band’s first new material since their hiatus in 2010. Since then the quitet have added two new members, Luciano Rossi and Andrew Mitchell joining Roddy Woomble, Rod Jones and Colin Newton.

Work on the new songs began in Los Angeles at the end of a US tour in 2016, but the anniversary of ‘The Remote Part’, with a string of live shows, meant it was some time before they reconvened in Rod Jones’ Edinburgh studio to finish the record.

“A lot of the songs are about dreams and dreaming and the thoughts and ideas that come from this state,” says Woomble.

“I live in the Scottish Highlands, and between there and California you’ve got two locations that can put you in a dream like state – driving down Sunset Boulevard as the sun sets or driving over the remote Ardnamurchan peninsula as the sun rises. The world seems unreal, magical. You’re dreaming through a landscape.”

The producer of ‘The Remote Part’ and ‘100 Broken Windows’, Dave Eringa, produced five songs on the rnew album, but also, as Woomble says, “brought a focus back to the band, and actually made us finish it! He made it sound like us.”

Idlewild play the following dates:

19th April – Grand Central Hall – Liverpool
20th April – Anson Rooms – Bristol
22nd April – Phoenix – Exeter
23rd April – Engine Rooms – Southampton
25th April – Beckett Uni – Leeds
26th April – o2 Forum – London
28th April – o2 Institute – Birmingham
29th April – o2 Ritz – Manchester
30th April – Waterfront – Norwich
1st May – Junction – Cambridge
2nd May – Riverside – Newcastle
4th May – Barrowland Ballrom – Glasgow
5th May – Music Hall – Aberdeen

‘Interview Music’ tracklist:

1. Dream Variations
2. There’s A Place For Everything
3. Interview Music
4. All These Words
5. You Wear It Second Hand
6. Same Things Twice
7. I Almost Didn’t Notice
8. Miracles
9. Mount Analogue
10. Forever New
11. Bad Logic
12. Familiar To Ignore
13. Lake Martinez

More at