David Laing releases a new EP, entitled ‘Maybe We’ll Stay’, via Lonesome Boat Records.

Now operating under the name ‘I am David Laing’, the five songs are available to stream via Spotify.

The 28 year old singer/songwriter, from Gourock, released his debut album, ‘Please Don’t Mind The Words’, in 2015, and lead track ‘Hoover Boxes’ reached number eight in The Herald’s 2015 Top 100 Tunes from Scotland.

“I planned on taking a short break to write some new material,” he admits. “Fast-forward five years and here we are!”

There are five tracks on the new EP – ‘Let’s Go Away’, ‘We Can Fall’, ‘All, All Over’, ‘Five O’Clock Rice’ and ‘We Fall Out’ – all recorded by Laing at home, before being mastered by Stuart Guffie.

Laing has fronted numerous bands over the last few years, as well as sharing the stage with the likes of Frightened Rabbit and Admiral Fallow as well as opening for Emeli Sande.

Following this, he began to perform under the moniker ‘I am David Laing’, and opened for King Creosote before performing his own sold-out headline show in Greenock within a week of each other.

‘Maybe We’ll Stay’ is intended to bridge the gap between his album and its forthcoming follow-up, which Laing has been working on since 2017, and which was in the early stages of recording just as the global pandemic hit.

Of the tracks comprising the EP, Laing says: “Four… are older songs that I’ve written and released on either previous solo endeavours or as the singer in other bands that I’ve reworked for this release.

“There’s also a new single, ‘Let’s Go Away’. I’ve recorded this at home in my flat during lockdown as the production wheels continue to turn for my next album in the background.”

To celebrate the E.P’s release, Laing will be live-streaming across all social media platforms on Friday 19th June.

More at www.facebook.com/iamdavidlaing .