Our irregular round-up of the most recent releases that don’t fit into the regular, more sensible formats (i.e. physical, or a download via Bandcamp)

Hamish Hawk (and band!) has snuck out a single, ‘Caterpillar’ – I say ‘single’, you can’t buy it, but you can stream it, or better still, view the video…

Erland Cooper releases a new EP, ‘Eynhallow’, via Phases Records. Part of his trilogy of albums, this choral EP is inspired by an abandoned island off Orkney.
The track is available to stream at erlandcooper.ffm.to/eynhallow

Emma Miller‘s ‘Low Life’ is taken from the EP ‘Set Me Down‘ – released last month, it features Emma and her dog Gracie by the sea near her home in Elgin.

We missed out on Beats of War in our last roundup – a recently released independent comic book by Glasgow-based comic designer, DJ and filmmaker Etienne Kubwado about Scotland’s first black Superhero.

Inspired by it is a single ‘Love for an Alien’ from Beats of War’s DJ E.T and Jaded Jane, following up debut single ‘Dat Juice’.

Following ‘Thoughts of Fools‘, Mike Clerk puts out the second track from his forthcoming album ‘The Space Between My Ears’ – and channels Bruce Lee in the video for ‘Keep Movin’. More on the former Lost Generation frontman at www.facebook.com/mikeclerkmusic.

Kate Kyle – a singer songwriter based in Dumfries and Ayr – releases her second EP, ‘Without Warning’. The latest tune from the BBC Scotland Singer/Songwriter Award 2019 shortlistee is available to stream, more at www.facebook.com/katekylemusic.

The Xcerts release a covers EP ‘So No One Told You Life Was Gonna Be This Way’ on Raygun Records – should imagine you can get it from iTunes or somewhere but it’s a streamer really. But there’s a video of

Produced by Ryan Burnett, it contains Starship’s ‘We Built This City’, The Ramones ‘I Wanna Be Sedated’, Avril Lavigne’s ‘Complicated’ and ‘Inbetween Days’ from The Cure ahead of a new LP in 2021.though weirdly, no Rembrants tune…

Neon Liston‘s EP ‘Long Gone Are The Days‘ contains two tracks – ‘Long Gone’ and ‘Sinking Sand’.

Previous releases have included ‘School Reunion’, ‘Rhodies & The Girls’ and ‘Doing My Head In’. Nick fronted Edinburgh band Epic26 up to 2011, appearing on bills with the likes of Everything Everything, Glasvagas and Hockey but who split after their final gig inside Saughton Prison.

Inverness-born songwriter James Mackenzie releases a single ‘Champion‘, which follows up 2019’s ‘Shoulders‘, and is the first track from his crowdfunded album ‘Heart’s On Fire’, which was was featured on Sportscene on BBC 1, accompanying footage of the Scotland football team’s historic win against Serbia in October 2020.

Speak Easy Circus release a single, ‘Lions Should Hunt’

The track from the band, from the East End of Glasgow, follows ‘Neon in Daylight’, and is, as frontman Jack Avison says, “inspired by yet another advert featuring a busty blonde model. I felt sick of being pandered to and sick of excuses for men and by men.
“If you expect to live in a modern day society then there are no excuses for being a misogynist piece of sh*t.”

Shika release her second self-produced single ‘Pisces Girl’
Now London-based, the Edinburgh-born, lo-fi R&B singer-songwriter released her debut ‘You’re The Worst’ last August. More at www.facebook.com/officialshikamusic.

Rachael Bisset releases a new single ‘Same Mistakes‘.

The singer-songwriter from Dundee has performed at Sofar Sounds Edinburgh and SHMU Radio: 57 North Presents in early 2020, follows by Aberdeen Performing Arts True North: Virtual Music Festival last September.

More at linktr.ee/rachaelbisset.

Sean Findlay releases a single ‘Song For Shutdown Nightclubs‘ – following ‘The Unplugged EP’ and ‘Living God’ from 2019.

The track’s subject matter is close to the heart of the 22-year-old musician – “a song I wrote about longing to be at nightclubs which are now shut down”, the Dundonian songwriter has played with Declan Welsh and Katherine Aly but during lockdown has resorted to playing virtual gigs and releasing music videos made with his phone.

Gefahrgeist – a Scottish electronic pop duo consisting of Fiona Liddell and Niall Rae – release a new single, ‘Nukular’.

Following debut single ‘Graceless’, it features The Jellyman’s Daughter cellist Graeme Coe and was mastered by Phil McBride (Midi Paul).

Graham Hanlon & The Solid Bond release a single, ‘Hold On (For Better Days)

They are a new Glasgow-based act, fronted by the eponymous 35-year-old musician – more at www.facebook.com/Thesolidbond.

Finally, Marcas Mac – Gaeldom’s King of Pop, we’re advised – released a single ‘Bruidhinn’, aptly, on Burns Night.
It’s had a pan-Celtic pop remix by Welsh-born, Manhattan-based Rod Thomas, aka Bright Light Bright Light, and is available
digitally. Proceeds go to CHAS – the Scottish charity supporting children and young people in hospice care – as part of the #Burns2021 fundraising campaign.

The track itself is a “response to the constant abuse and marginalisation of Gaelic and other minoritised language-speakers in the press and online,” says Marcas. More at marcasmac.wixsite.com/marcas.