Erland Cooper releases a new album, ‘Seachange’, via the Phases label.

The ambient companion piece to his May release, ‘Sule Skerry‘, contains three tracks – ‘Tide’ I, II and III, and follows the pattern of ‘Murmuration’, the collaboration with William Doyle that accompanied Cooper’s debut solo release, ‘Solan Goose’ (however, Cooper previously made five full-length recordings as The Magnetic North, and Erland and the Carnival).

The ‘new’ pieces were created in collaboration with producer, artist and guitarist Leo Abrahams, who guests on ‘Sule Skerry’ – which is the second album in a triptych shaped by Cooper’s childhood home, the Orkney Islands – and in particular by the air, sea and land.

Cooper explains: “It’s just a different perspective, or way of seeing. I imagine this music being created by placing recyclable source material into the North Sea and watching it become torn, pulled apart, diluted, stretched, weathered and then reassembled in an Orkney Geo (an inlet, gully or narrow and deep cleft in the face of a cliff formed by the sea in Orkney & Shetland).

“It creates a different form, with dissolved and overlapping melodies that eventually disappear into granules like plankton. This record is an upcycling of sounds, themes and layers into a new collaborative work.”

Cooper has a UK tour planned, as follows:

17 Nov – Lancaster, Lancaster Central Library
20 Nov – Manchester, Band on the Wall
21 Nov – Bristol, Arnolfini – SOLD OUT
22 Nov – Brighton, Unitarian Church
24 Nov – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
30 Nov – Glasgow, Mackintosh Queen’s Cross Church
2 Dec – Gateshead, Sage Two

More at