Elisabeth Elektra releases her debut album, ‘Mercurial’, via the Occult Babes label.

The 10 tracks from the Glasgow-based musician include recent single ‘Crystalline‘ are available to download via Bandcamp.

Also included on the release are ‘Inanna’ – about the ancient Sumerian goddess of love and war’s descent into the underworld – and ‘Sadie’, a break-up ballad about Elektra’s ex-girlfriend.

Written and recorded over three years, Elektra reveals, “as a cathartic response to loss and grief”, the long-player was funded by PRSF’s ‘Women Make Music‘.

“We have to acknowledge life’s darker side in order to move forward,” she says, “but this album has been a real kernel of light for me. Light always emerges from darkness.”

Elektra has previously appeared at All Tomorrow’s Parties, Kendall Calling and SXSW, as well as supporting Minor Victories and the Human League, and has worked with Ben Power of Fuck Buttons and Blanck Mass, Nurse With Wound’s Andrew Liles, and John Fryer (This Mortal Coil).

Her latest release includes contributions from various collaborators including former Prides man Lewis Gardiner, Julian Corrie (Franz Ferdinand/Miaoux Miaoux), Graeme ‘Rememberremember’ Ronald, Sam Dunkley, Alex Mackay, and Michael Brennan.

More at elisabethelektra.com.