Diving Station release new a EP, ‘June Damp’

Available as a download, it gathers together three tracks previously available as singles – ‘Joanna’, plus ‘Fruit Flies’, and the EP’s eponymous closing track.

The Manchester-based act are led by Edinburgh-born harpist/vocalist Anna McLuckie, along with guitarist Sean Rogan, bassist George Burrage, and Barnabas Kimberley on drums and vocals.

Following five years of performing and writing together, the band worked with producer Hugo Meredith-Hardy (David Gray, Tallsaint, Caro) for their recorded debut, having previously appeared at Glastonbury, Bluedot and Dot to Dot Festivals, and shared bills with the likes of Rozi Plain, Cherry Glazerr and Honeyfeet.

Singer and lyricist McLuckie says of the EP and its title track: “I have a metal tin on my window sill which I keep odd ends in. On it is a variation of the famous proverb ‘June damp and warm does the farmer no harm’. Similar to the famous ‘Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight; red sky in the morning, shepherd’s warning’, it’s an old saying that farmers used as a weather indicator.

“I didn’t have any curtains in my room in summer so it was always the first thing I saw when I woke up. The rest of the lyrics came from that hazy long summer feeling. It is in short a love song, be that to the earth or to a being.”

Radio support for the band has already come from Guy Garvey, Steve Lamacq and Tom Robinson at BBC 6 Music, as well as Bob Harris at Radio 2.

More at Facebook.com/divingstationmusic