Dead Modern release a three-track EP, ‘Still Cool’, via The Imaginary Kind collective imprint.

Containing three tracks – ‘True North’, ‘Still Cool’, and ‘Feeling Fine’, it’s as the title suggests an unashamed piece of nostalgia – “for the music of 1979 or 1989 or lost venues like The Arches and Studio24”.

The band formed from the Scottish indie rock and electronic music underground and include members from There Will Be Fireworks, The Youth and Young and New Year Memorial among others.

The lineup for the EP is Jamie Clapton on drums and percussion, Nicholas McManus, who penned the lyrics, on vocals, synths and guitars;Jordan Russell-Hall, also on synths plus bass and glockenspiel; and David Thomson on guitars / synthesizers.
Also involved are Cameron Thomson-Duncan, providing trumpet on ‘True North’ and ‘Feeling Fine’.

The focus track ‘Still Cool’ was recorded with producer/engineer Andy Miller (Mogwai, Life Without Buildings, Songs: Ohia) at Gargleblast Studio in Hamilton in 2019 and 2020. Miller is also credited with “ambience” on ‘True North’. It has already received an enthusiastic review at is this music? (and the Lancashire Evening Post).