Check Masses release a new six track EP, ‘Moroccan Skies’, via Triassic Tusk Records.

The lead track comes from album ‘Nightlife‘ released in May last year, but the Leith-based trio have enlisted several notable names to contribute remixes to the EP.

As the band say: “The timing (of the album’s release) was disastrous thanks to the pandemic obviously, but absolutely everyone in music was hit hard… So what else was there to do, but get the remix crew in!”

The five mixes come from Erik Tricity (of Edinburgh industrial trio Metaltech), Ex Makina (aka producer Iain Campbell), acclaimed psychedelic rock duo Man of Moon, Great Ezcape (with rap from Profisee), and former Killing Joke bassist and now producer, Youth, who “dubs it into infinity”.

The band – vocalist and lyricist ‘Philly’ Angelo Collins, sometime radio DJ and Fence Collective member Vic Galloway, and Saleem Andrew McGroarty (aka production monicker Sound Signals) – also plan an alternative version of the original album – ‘Nightlife – Remixed’, in September.

The band plan a series of live dates (subject to Covid 19 restrictions):
King Tuts Wah Wah Hut – Glasgow – 7th August 2021
Doune the Rabbit Hole Festival – Stirlingshire – 13th August 2021
Sneaky Pete’s – Edinburgh – 20th October 2021
Stag & Dagger Festival – Edinburgh – 14th November 2021

And Check Masses band have also established a Youtube channel which includes films to accompany the three singles previously taken from Nightlife’ including ‘Lost In The City‘, a Jockrock Video of the Week)

The original ‘Nightlife’ album is still available – more at /, or read our Casual Introduction to the band.