Blanck Mass releases a new album, ‘Animated Violence Mild’, via the Sacred Bones label.

The eight track long player is the fourth full-length under the name of Blanck Mass for Scottish-based musician Benjamin John Power.

Formerly one half of Fuck Buttons, Power has been making music under the Blanck Mass moniker since 2010, and in 2012 ‘Sundowner’ – from the self-titled Blanck Mass debut – soundtracked the London Olympics Opening Ceremony.

The song was chosen by Underworld’s Rick Smith and performed by London’s Symphony Orchestra to 900 million people worldwide. Since then, Power has released two albums, 2015’s ‘Dumb Flesh’ and 2017’s ‘World Eater’, on Sacred Bones.

Written throughout 2018, at his studio just outside Edinburgh, Power said of the record: “In this post-industrial, post-enlightenment religion of ourselves, we have manifested a serpent of consumerism which now coils back upon us. It seduces us with our own bait as we betray the better instincts of our nature and the future of our own world.

“We throw ourselves out of our own garden. We poison ourselves to the edges of an endless sleep.”

“I believe that many of us have wilfully allowed our survival instinct to become engulfed by the snake we birthed. Animated — brought to life by humankind. Violent — insurmountable and wild beyond our control. Mild — delicious.”

Animated Violence Mild is available now.

1. Intro
2. Death Drop
3. House vs. House (YouTube)
4. Hush Money
5. Love is a Parasite
6. Creature / West Fuqua
7. No Dice
8. Wings of Hate

More at