Members of Belle and Sebastian, Admiral Fallow, Frightened Rabbit and Zoey Van Goey are among the acts to pay tribute to Scots legend Ivor Cutler on a forthcoming tribute album.

The album gets its launch on Wednesday 29th January at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall as part of Celtic Connections, with most of the album’s contributors taking part in a special one-off event.

At the core of the project are Matt Brennan (Citizen Bravo and formerly of Zoey Van Goey) and Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra’s saxophonist/composer Raymond MacDonald.

Also assisting on production duties are Malcolm Benzie (eagleowl) and Andy Monaghan (Frightened Rabbit).

The album includes the first single to come from the 26-track double album, ‘Here’s A Health For Simon’, which single features Stuart Murdoch (Belle and Sebastian), Sarah Hayes (Admiral Fallow / You Tell Me), Karine Polwart, Rick Redbeard (Phantom Band) and a sample of Ivor Cutler himself.

Guests on the album include Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai), Tracyanne Campbell (Camera Obscura), Kris Drever (Lau), Alex Kapranos (Franz Ferdinand), Pictish Trail, Emma Pollock (Delgados), James Yorkston, plus Phyllis King – Cutler’s longtime companion and collaborator – and Robert Wyatt.

The double album is a concept piece of sorts with the contributors visiting the mythical island of Y’Hup, a territory which Cutler dreamt up and described throughout his early recordings, taking them on a journey of imaginary archaeology.

Return To Y’Hup: The World of Ivor Cutler will be released on 24 January 2020 on Chemikal Underground Records. Album proceeds will be donated to mental health registered charity The Philadelphia Association as per the wishes of Cutler’s son Jeremy Cutler. The album will be available on limited edition blue marble vinyl, CD, and digital release.

Side A

1. Here’s A Health For Simon
2. Latitude And Longitude (featuring Phyllis King)
3. Size Nine And A Half (featuring Emma Pollock)
4. Mary’s A Cow (featuring Malcolm Benzie)
5. Instance The Yam (featuring Alex Kapranos)
6. Pickle Your Knees (featuring Karine Polwart)
7. Gravity Begins At Home (featuring Rick Redbeard)
8. A Cowpuncher And A Bird (featuring Zoe Graham)
9. Boo Boo Bird (featuring Heather Leigh)
10. Vitamin P (featuring Duglas T. Stewart)
11. Green Rain (featuring Sarah Hayes)
12. A Tooth Song (featuring Adam Stafford)
13. Sh Chi (featuring Stuart Murdoch)

Side B

1. Women Of The World (featuring Tracyanne Campbell)
2. A Real Man (featuring James Yorkston)
3. Yellow Fly (featuring Kris Drever)
4. Shoplifters (featuring Future Pilot AKA vs. Stranded Astronaut)
5. The Path (featuring Stuart Braithwaite)
6. Muscular Tree (featuring Megan Airlie and Limelight Ensemble)
7. Who Tore Your Trousers James (featuring Rachel Sermanni and Chris Thomson)
8. I Got No Common Sense
9. When I Stand On An Open Cart (featuring Kapil Seshasayee)
10. I Believe In Bugs (featuring Jo Mango)
11. Good Morning! How Are You? Shut Up! (featuring Pictish Trail)
12. Out Of Decency (featuring Robert Wyatt)
13. Beautiful Cosmos (featuring Anna Miles)