Eigg-based label Lost Map release the first music from new signings Bas Jan, a London experimental post-punk trio.

Based around the voice and songs of multi-instrumentalist and composer Serafina Steer, the main lyricist, Bas Jan also include violinist, bassist and vocalist Emma Smith (of Meilyr Jones, Seamus Fogarty and founder member of the Elysian Quartet) and drummer and vocalist Rachel Horwood (Trash Kit, Bamboo).

The latter duo replaced original members Sarah Anderson and Jenny Moore, who co-wrote and played the songs on the album.

Available as a download as well as on 12″ vinyl, among the dozen tracks are ‘Argument’, a PostMap postcard single which came with an exclusive remix of ‘No Sign’ by JP Buckle.

The album was recorded at Total Refreshment Centre and Gun Factory studios with producers Capitol K, Leafcutter John and Leo Abrahams, it follows up a self-titled five track debut EP, released in 2017.

Steer previously released three solo albums – the most recent of which, 2013’s ‘The Moths Are Real’, was produced by Jarvis Cocker.