Andrew Howie releases a new album, ‘Pale White Branches’, on his own Autoclave label.

The 11-track long-player, including single ‘Sycamore‘, is now available on streaming services, following the album’s previous release in physical and downloadable form.

The CD version is still available, in a deluxe wallet-style sleeve, via Bandcamp and the usual retail outlets.

It’s the Bannockburn-based songwriter’s first ‘conventional’ album since 2018’s ‘Micronations‘ – however, since then Howie has put out several releases, including 2019’s ‘Fragile‘ EP, plus a string of more experimental efforts including the self-explanatorily-titled ‘Solo Guitar Loops 1‘ and its follow-up, ‘Volume 2‘, and more recently, a similarly-themed collection, ‘Remixed‘.

‘Pale White Branches’ is the 13th release from the artist formerly known as Calamateur – the name under which Howie released a further 12 records from 2000-2011.

Recorded at Glasgow’s GloWorm Recording, it is Howie’s first album since 2010’s ‘Each Dirty Letter’ to feature a full band: Lewis Gordon (Deacon Blue) on bass, Phil Wilkinson (King Creosote & Jon Hopkins, Brian Eno, Ed Harcourt) on drums, Tim Davidson (Attic Lights, Dropkick, Camera Obscura) on pedal steel guitar, Graeme McKerracher (The Great Albatross, Vox Liminis) on electric guitar and banjo, Lucy Cathcart Frödén (Jo Mango, Tall Tales) on backing vocals, and on piano and Hammond organ, the album’s co-producer Iain Hutchison (Eddi Reader, Mike Vass, Runrig), who also mixed the release with assistance from Ross Saunders & Sam Welch.

Also in collaborative style, there are three co-writes among the tracks – ‘A Follower, A Fighter’ with Hannah Graham, ‘California’ co-written with Alan Kerr, and ‘Partick Station’, which sees Colleen Souness sharing the credits.

More at /