Abrasive Trees release a four track EP ‘Without Light’ via the SHAPTA label.

Featuring members of Rothko, Evi Vine and Fields Of The Nephilim, it’s available on Bandcamp as well as on streaming platforms, plus limited CD and chrome cassette.

Matthew Rochford’s experimental post-punk project recently released a single ‘Bound For An Infinite Sea’, whose Sebastian Swarm remix was our Video of the Week.

For the latest EP Rochford worked with Evi Vine’s Steven Hill, and Mark Beazley of former Bella Union band Rothko, who supplies a remix of the title track.

The EP also includes ‘We Rise’, and ‘Alone In The World’, which features Peter Yates from Fields of The Nephilim, while Ben Roberts from Evi Vine’s band, Jay Newton (Quiet Quiet Band) and Jerome Hitchens (Kuki and The Bard) also appear across the four tracks.

Multi-instrumentalist and singer Rochford has himself played on a variety of releases including those by Jo-Beth Young (RISE/Talitha Rise), Rothko and Council of Giants.

Originally from Aberdeen but of Asian/English heritage, he mainly works from his studio near Totnes in South Devon where he also runs his micro-label SHAPTA.

Rochford said: “This EP has challenged me to go deeper and have a consistent intention with each track. The music is the result of an emotional process that I think you can definitely hear in the music.

“I think even when there is grief in music it’s important to know that although we are fragile we can bounce back and feel happiness again.”

The project has to date received creative input from Jo-Beth Young (Talitha Rise/RISE), Ffion Atkinson (Johnny Powell And The Seasonal Beasts), Laurence Collyer (Diamond Family Archive), Jerome Hitchens (Kuki and The Bard), Nadia Abdelaziz (RISE) and Sebastian Rochford (Pulled By Magnets/Polar Bear/Patti Smith).

Videos to accompany each release have been created by visual artist Jess Wooller.

Live dates are being planned for the autumn.

More at www.abrasivetrees.com.