As far as debut albums go, this is definitely one for any music lover who enjoys an extra shot of blues in their rock and roll. 16th September 2013 sees the self-titled album The Temperance Movement make its long-awaited entrance onto the music scene, released on Earache Records. In a quirkier approach, The Temperance Movement is available on cassette, as well as the bog standard CD and vinyl.

After initially testing the water in 2012 with a 5-track EP titled Pride, the feedback the band received from listeners reaffirmed the fact, if there was ever any doubt, that they were definitely onto something. Phil Campbell (vocals), Paul Sayer (guitar), Luke Potashnick (guitar), Nick Fyffe (bass) and Damon Wilson (drums) set about returning to the studio and adding to their collection, which resulted in this impressive 12-track album.

The guitar intro to the opening track ‘Only Friend’ instantly catches your attention, before you’re introduced to the perfectly balanced power and gravelly tone at the disposal of Glaswegian frontman, Phil Campbell. Sounding like a young Rod Stewart, the Scotsman seems right at home belting out rock anthems such as ‘Ain’t No Telling’ and recent single ‘Midnight Black’, with a distinct fire in his belly. He seems equally comfortable with the slower more heartfelt numbers like ‘Chinese Lanterns’, ‘Lovers And Fighters’ and the closing track ‘Serenity’. This is definitely an album that has a little something for everyone and one which the guys have clearly ploughed every ounce of energy into making.

The Temperance Movement will be taking to the road next week and embarking on a UK and European tour, one which could see their popularity rise to the next level. It’s still early days, but the initial signs are very promising and these guys clearly know how to make an album.

More at

(Review by Matt Ward – / @wordsofwardy)