Young Fathers ‘Heavy Heavy’ has been announced as winner of The Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award at a prestigious ceremony in Stirling’s Albert Halls.

The Leith-based act claimed the title ahead of a shortlist including Paolo Nutini, Hamish hawk, Cloth and Joesef, taking home £20,000 and the title of Scottish Album of the Year for the third time.

Paolo Nutini’s debut album, 2006’s ‘These Streets’, was awarded the Modern Scottish Classic Award, with the Paisley singer-songwriter’s manager and sister taking to the stage to accept the award on Paolo’s behalf as he’s currently in the USA.

And Edinburgh-based duo No Windows were named The Sound of Young Scotland, winning a £10,000 funding package to create their debut album.

Alloysious Massaquoi, of Young Fathers, accepted the trophy and said: “Thank you to the judges, and all the nominees and everybody that’s turned up tonight – it’s a bit radge! The album is called ‘Heavy Heavy’ for a reason, it’s the trials and tribulations of everybody.

It’s one of those things where we sort of had to start from scratch, it had been four or five years since we put something out since ‘Cocoa Sugar’. For us to get back together and get excited again with each other, all the ideas that everybody else brings – it’s great and this is topping off a great year.

“Watching the young folk coming up there – it’s inspiring. I don’t think the guys and I will ever lose that – we look at stuff right across the board. There’s a lot of room for inspiration here and we gain a lot of inspiration right across the board. Thank you to everybody. Thank you, we love you all and appreciate it.”

Paolo Nutini said of his Modern Scottish Classic Award: “It was nice to hear that ‘Last Night In The Bittersweet’ was being recognised and that means a lot and hearing the news about ‘These Streets’ was a surprise to say the least. Mental news that I never expected for a minute!

“All I can say is thank you so much to those who the music means something and for listening to the songs. It’s nice to be mentioned in the same breath as these people who I have a lot of respect for.

I really appreciate it and I’m proud to be a part of it all. I’m sorry I couldn’t be there on the night to say thanks in person but please know that it means a lot. Thank you.”

No Windows on accepting their award, said: “If you couldn’t tell, we didn’t write anything – it’s such an honour to just be here. We were just happy for the day out. Scotland right now is such an exciting time and place for music and it feels like a complete honour to be a part of that and be part of such an incredible group of musicians.”

The Shortlist again in full…

Andrew Wasylyk – Hearing the Water before Seeing the Falls
Becky Sikasa – Twelve Wooden Boxes
Bemz – Nova’s Dad
Brìghde Chaimbeul – Carry Them With Us
Brooke Combe – Black Is the New Gold
Cloth – Secret Measure
Hamish Hawk – Angel Numbers
Joesef – Permanent Damage
Paolo Nutini – Last Night In The Bittersweet
Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy

More at