Previous winners Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert, and Kathryn Joseph, plus The Twilight Sad and Edwyn Collins, and are among the Scottish indie acts in the running for the Scottish Album of the Year Award.

Also on the list of 20 long players from the 2018-19 tax year are Carla J. Easton, Chvrches, Free Love, Andrew Wasylyk, Auntie Flo, Karine Polwart, Free Love, and Mastersystem, featuring the final work of Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchison.

The longlist was announced at Edinburgh’s Queen’s Hall, at an event which featured previous nominees Kobi Onyame, a new collaboration between Idlewild’s Rod Jones and Modern Studies, and C Duncan, who also made the 20-strong list with his latest album ‘Health’, released earlier in 2019.

Also still in the running are acts from a variety of musical genres from around the country, including representations from the jazz, folk and classical world.

These 20 releases will be narrowed down to a shortlist of 10 – 9 selected by a judging panel and one by a public vote over three days from August 12th, and the winner will be selected from this 10 at the capital’s Assembly Rooms on Friday 6th September.

The full list reads, in alphabetical order:

1. Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
2. Aidan O’Rourke – 365: Vol. 1
3. Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
4. Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
5. Brìghde Chaimbeul – The Reeling
6. C Duncan – Health
7. Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
8. CHVRCHES – Love Is Dead
9. Edwyn Collins – Badbea
10. Fatherson – Sum Of All Your Parts
11. Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
12. Free Love – Luxury Hits
13. Graham Costello’s Strata – Obelisk
14. Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson– Laws of Motion
15. Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
16. Kinnaris Quintet – Free One
17. Mastersystem – Dance Music
18. Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là
19. Sean Shibe – softLOUD
20. The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time

More at