The Scottish New Music Awards have announced the nominees for their second annual vote, and presentation ceremony, which take place at Glasgow’s Classic Grand on Sunday September 2nd.

Among those nominated in the 30-odd categories are A Balcony Scene and Finding Albert for Alternative/Indie Recording of the Year, while Rustie and S-type are contenders for Electronic Recording of the Year.
Attica Rage figure in the final five in the Loud/Metal category, while the list for Ska/Punk Recording includes The International Pop Assassins and The Plimptons (pictured).
Colin James Murphy and Lou Hickey are both contenders for the Frankie Miller Songwriter of the Year Award, and they both feature in the shortlist for Artist of the Year alongside Findlay Napier.

The evening will also see the presentation of the Industry Awards – where among others, Richie Dempsey is up for Live Sound Engineer of the Year. Castle Sound Studios, Motherwell’s Foundry Music Lab and the Old Mill Studios in Strathaven are up for Recording Studio of the Year, while nominees for Music Retailer of the Year include Missing Records and One Up.

The Live Club of the Year title could go to any of Bannermans, Dreadnought Rock, The Electric Circus, Ivory Blacks or The Doghouse, while the Best Website/Online Publication category includes Music News Scotland, MusicScotland, Radar Scotsman, Rock News Desk, and (ahem) Jockrock.

And the printed version of that is contested by Alex Harvey: Last of the Teenage Idols by Martin Kielty & Janet Macoska, Apollo Memories: 2012 Edition by Martin Kielty, Music News Scotland, The List and The Skinny.

More, including voting can be found at