The Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award has opened up voting to the public, giving music fans the chance to select their favourite Scottish album from the recently announced SAY Award Longlist.

Music fans have a 72-hour window to vote at, and the album with the most votes will secure a minimum prize of £1,000 and take a place on the 10-strong Shortlist with a chance of the £20,000 grand prize and title of Scottish Album of the Year.

The nine other Shortlisted albums will be selected by this year’s SAY Award judging panel, who will then together consider the Shortlist and determine 2022’s SAY Award winner.

The winner of The SAY Award will be announced at the final ceremony on Thursday 20 October at The Albert Halls in Stirling.

In alphabetical order, The SAY Award Longlist for 2022 is as follows:

· AiiTee – ‘Better Days’
· Andrew Wasylyk – ‘Balgay Hill: Morning In Magnolia’
· Annie Booth – ‘Lazybody’
· Bemz – ‘M4’
· C Duncan – ‘Alluvium’
· Callum Easter – ‘System’
· Constant Follower – ‘Neither Is, Nor Ever Was’
· Declan Welsh and the Decadent West – ‘It’s Been A Year’
· Duncan Lyall – ‘Milestone’
· Fergus McCreadie – ‘Forest Floor’
· Hamish Hawk – ‘Heavy Elevator’
· Hen Hoose – ‘Equaliser’
· Kathryn Joseph – ‘For You Who Are The Wronged’
· Kobi Onyame – ‘Don’t Drink The Poison’
· The Ninth Wave – ‘Heavy Like a Headache’
· Niteworks – ‘A’Ghrian’
· Proc Fiskal – ‘Siren Spine Sysex’
· Rebecca Vasmant – ‘With Love, From Glasgow’
· Seonaid Aitken Ensemble – ‘Chasing Sakura’
· Walt Disco – ‘Unlearning’

The 72-hour public vote is open from 00:00 on Monday 3 October until midnight on Wednesday 5 October, and the SAY Award Shortlist will be announced on Thursday 6 October. On the same day, for the second year, the five Sound of Young Scotland Award finalists and the Modern Scottish Classic Award winner will also be revealed – in which a Scottish album with lasting influence is chosen by the Longlisted artists to be honoured at the ceremony.

More at /