The Scottish Music Industry Association – the SMIA to you and me – has announced the 20-album ‘longlist’ for the 2013 Scottish Album of the Year Award.
The chosen album will follow the inaugural winners, Aidan Moffat and Bill Wells, whose Everything’s Getting Older won the 2012 vote.

The 20 albums will be promoted for 4 weeks, and the public can hear each release during this period, leading up to a 24 hour public vote on Monday 27th May. The album with the most public votes will secure an automatic place on The SAY Award Shortlist of ten, with the other nine titles being chosen by an independent pane.

The longlist, in alphabetical order, reads:
Admiral Fallow     – Tree Bursts In Snow
Auntie Flo – Future Rhythm Machine
Calvin Harris – 18 Months
Dam Mantle – Brothers Fowl
Django Django – Django Django
Duncan Chisholm – Affric
Emeli Sandé –  Our Version of Events
Errors –  Have Some Faith In Magic
Human Don’t Be Angry –  Human Don’t Be Angry
Karine Polwart –  Traces
Konrad Wiszniewski & Euan Stevenson –  New Focus
Lau – Race The Loser
Meursault – Something For The Weakened
Miaoux Miaoux –  Light of the North
Paul Buchanan – Mid Air
PAWS  –   Cokefloat!
RM Hubbert   – Thirteen Lost & Found
Stanley Odd – Reject
The Twilight Sad   – No One Can Ever Know
The Unwinding Hours – Afterlives

The whole shebang culminates with an awards ceremony at the Barrowlands on Hune 20th, where the winners will receive the £20,000 first prize.

More at