Scottish music fans can now vote for their favourite albums on the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award Longlist.

The recently-announced list of 20 long-players must be whittled down to a shortlist of just ten, before the winner is announced on Friday September 6 at the Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh, with the winner joining the likes of Wells and Moffat, RM Hubbert, Kathryn Joseph, and last year’s top act Young Fathers (pictured) on the list of winners.

The Longlisted album which secures the most votes from the public will automatically gain a place on the Shortlist, as well as a guaranteed minimum prize of £1,000.

This album, along with nine chosen by a panel of “music industry experts”, will then be in the running to be crowned Scottish Album of the Year of 2018-19, with the winning act receiving a £20,000 prize.

The Scottish Music Industry Association’s Robert Kilpatrick said: “Last month we announced and celebrated 20 outstanding Scottish albums as this year’s SAY Award Longlist.

“Soon they’ll be whittled down to a Shortlist of just 10 albums, and the public vote plays a crucial part in ensuring that music fans have a voice in the determination of this. The album with the most votes will be automatically guaranteed a place on the Shortlist and a minimum prize of £1,000.

“Every vote counts, and we need your input. The SAY Award is by and for music fans, so make sure to get involved and have your SAY!”

Voting is open for just ONE DAY at

The SAY Award Longlist for 2019 is:

1. Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
2. Aidan O’Rourke – 365: Vol. 1
3. Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
4. Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
5. Brìghde Chaimbeul – The Reeling
6. C Duncan – Health
7. Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
8. CHVRCHES – Love Is Dead
9. Edwyn Collins – Badbea
10. Fatherson – Sum Of All Your Parts
11. Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
12. Free Love – Luxury Hits
13. Graham Costello’s Strata– Obelisk
14. Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson – Laws of Motion
15. Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
16. Kinnaris Quintet – Free One
17. Mastersystem – Dance Music
18. Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là
19. Sean Shibe – softLOUD
20. The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time

The Shortlist will be announced on August 15 as part of a special BBC Radio Scotland show from 9pm.