A host of Scottish musicians are among a large collection of cultural figures who have signed a “declaration for independence” ahead of the SNP’s autumn conference.

Musicians such as Robert Hodgens aka Bobby Bluebell, Mogwai’s Stuart Braithaite,
Aidan O’Rourke, Karine Polwart, and Eddi Reader have joined forces with the likes of actors Brian Cox and Elaine C. Smith, writers A.L. Kennedy and Val McDermid, and former Makar Liz Lochhead, to put their names to the 501-word declaration which stated that the Union meant Scots giving up their right to “decide their own destiny”.

The 12-points in the document also laid out the “guiding principles” for a new state, including a written constitution, and the removal of Trident.

Broadcasters and journalists such as Jamie MacDougall, Stuart Cosgrove, Ruth Wishart and Iain Anderson also have their signatures on the document alongside singers Sheena Wellington, Lorraine Mackintosh out of Deacon Blue, and former Soup Dragon and acclaimed artist Ross Sinclair (pictured).