Edwyn Collins is to receive an award at this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards
The former Orange Juice frontman and solo hit artist is to be given the Outstanding Contribution To Music and Pioneer Award at the second AIM Independent Music Awards which take place in London on October 29th.

The ceremony, hosted by Steve Lamacq and Huw Stephens, will also honour Mute Records’ Daniel Miller.

Edywn Collins said: “How gracious of AIM to consider me, I’m most flattered. Thirty years of rock n roll independence! It’s where I started and I’m there yet. I think its the future, young people.”

The winners were decided by a panel of judges including the likes of Sean Adams (DrownedInSound), Tim Jonze (Guardian.co.uk), Ras Kwame (DJ), Pete Paphides (Music Journalist & Broadcaster), Paul Stokes (Associate Editor (Digital) Q), Luke Turner (Associate Editor, The Quietus) as well as hosts Stephens and Lamacq.
More at the AIM website.