Coldplay have revealed the track list for their new album with an advert in the classified section of the Fife Free Press.

The band took out the announcement about ‘Everyday Life’, filed under ‘Entertainments’, in Thursday’s edition as part of a worldwide underground marketing campaign.

The Fife Free Press is based in Kirkcaldy, the home town of the band’s bass player Guy Berryman.

The double album, the follow-up to 2015’s ‘A Head Full Of Dreams’, is split in to two sections, ‘Sunrise’ and ‘Sunset’.

The quartet’s unusual advertising campaign follows a trail of cryptic teasers around the world, as well as the band revealing the track listing in a reply to a fan letter.

The Fife Free Press was one of several local newspapers the band placed adverts in –
The Daily Post in Wales – where guitarist Jonny Buckland once worked – also featured the notice, as did Exeter’s Express and Echo, and Southampton’s Daily Echo, the local papers of vocalist Chris Martin and drummer Will Champion.

Australia’s Sydney Morning Herald, New Zealand’s Otago Daily Times and France’s Le Monde also carried the titles of the album’s 16 tracks.

The album is due for release on November 22.