Biffy Clyro have announced a new film and soundtrack album, ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’

It’s the first new material from the Ayrshire trio – twin brothers James and Ben Johnston, and Simon Neil – since 2016’s ‘Ellipsis’, and is set for release next month, with its premiere at the Edinburgh Film Festival on 23 June 2019.

Simon Neil revealed the film is a “Romeo And Juliet story from Juliet’s point of view”.

The film is described as “a beautiful cinematic tribute to art, music and Scotland (and Glasgow in particular)”, showcasing many locations around the country.

Made by Jamie Adams – who has worked on acclaimed music-themed productions ‘Songbird’ and ‘All Shook Up’ – the band worked on the score, and also the storyline, which sees Laura Harrier (Spider-Man: Homecoming) as a Scottish-American art student who is studying at Glasgow School of Art, and whose privileged existence is thrown into a spin when her father unexpectedly dies.

A teaser for the soundtrack sees the band performing as part of the film, bizarrely wearing a selection of shirts and sportswear.

Torn between supporting her mother (Kate Dickie) and dealing with her own sense of loss, she finds herself re-examining her life and friends. She finds inspiration from provocative fellow student Hannah (Bria Vinaite, The Florida Project).

The film also features rising talents such as Freya Mavor, Martin Bell and Lily Newmark, and with Tamsin Egerton and Shauna Macdonald as art teachers/experts.

The tracklist for ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’s soundtrack reads:
1. Balance, Not Symmetry
2. All Singing and All Dancing
3. Different Kind of Love
4. Sunrise
5. Pink
6. Colour Wheel
7. Gates of Heaven
8. Fever Dream
9. Navy Blue
10. Tunnels and Trees
11. Plead
12. The Naturals
13. Yellow
14. Touch
15. Jasabiab
16. Following Master
17. Adored

More including streaming / ordering details at