Belle & Sebastian, The Twilight Sad and last year’s winners Young Fathers are among the acts announced for the Scottish Album of the Year longlist.
Organisers of the now annual award have gathered the votes of 100 nominators which have been totted up to form the ‘Top 20’, which will be whittled down by a process that includes a public vote to a shortlist of 10. The winning album will then be chosen at a ceremony in June, by a panel of judges.

That longlist reds as follows:

Treacherous Orchestra – Grind

Withered Hand – New Gods

Belle & Sebastian – Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance

The Twilight Sad – Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave

Young Fathers – DEAD

King Creosote – From Scotland With Love

Mike Vass – In The Wake Of Neil Gunn

Errors – Lease of Life

Paolo Nutini – Caustic Love

Slam – Reverse Proceed

Fatherson – I Am An Island

The Amazing Snakeheads – Amphetamine Ballads

Idlewild – Everything Ever Written

Blue Rose Code – The Ballads of Peckham Rye

Paws – Youth Culture Forever

The Phantom Band – Strange Friend

Mogwai – Rave Tapes

Happy Meals – Apéro

Honeyblood – Honeyblood

Kathryn Joseph – Bones You Have Thrown Me And Blood I’ve Spilled

More at

Jockrock would like to offer its apologies for the ‘kiss of death’ applied to How To Swim, The Second Hand Marching Band, Lonely Tourist, Roy Moller and We Were Promised Jetpacks