Belle and Sebastian are to release a trio of EPs over winter months, collectively entitled ‘How To Solve Our Human Problems’.

Following up recent single ‘We Were Beautiful’, the three five-track collections will then be compiled into a vinyl box set and CD release.

The band then tour Europe from February of next year, with UK live dates in March, including shows in Perth on March 23rd and Edinburgh the following night.

The trio of EPs mirror the band’s schedule of around 20 years ago, when they put out ‘Dog On Wheels’, ‘Lazy Line Painter Jane’ and ‘3.. 6.. 9 Seconds of Light’ – except those mid-1997 releases appeared with 10-week gaps, and totalled just a dozen tracks.

The new extended players will be available on digital and vinyl –

How To Solve Our Human Problems Part 1 (December 8th)
1. Sweet Dew Lee
2. We Were Beautiful
3. Fickle Season
4. The Girl Doesn’t Get It
5. Everything Is Now

How To Solve Our Human Problems Part 2 (January 19th)
1. Show Me The Sun
2. Same Star
3. I’ll Be Your Pilot
4. Cornflakes
5. A Plague On All Other Boys

How To Solve Our Human Problems Part 3 (February 16th)
1. Poor Boy
2. Everything Is Now (Part Two)
3. Too Many Tears
4. There Is An Everlasting Song
5. Best Friend

Talking to Stereogum, Stuart Murdoch said of the EPs: “The main thing was just to come back to Glasgow and record in Glasgow for the first time in about a dozen years and also to sort of produce the record ourselves, and also to record in a different way, to go into the studio with a track barely written and, a little bit like James Brown’s style, just get the band in when you have a song and find a small studio that’s free and just go in there and throw it down…”