The shortlist of albums still eligible to win the Scottish Album of the Year has been announced.

Former winners Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert as well as Kathryn Joseph are part of the final 10, of which nine were selected by a panel of industry experts.

The final place was taken by Mastersystem’s only release, ‘Dance Music’, in a 72 hour public vote.

These 10 albums will be considered by the same panel with the winner being announced on Friday September 6 at the Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh with the winning act receiving a £20,000 prize.

This means that among the 10 acts who will not be considered for the award are Chvrches, Edwyn Collins, and the band seen by many as the favourite, The Twilight Sad.

Robert Kilpatrick, General Manager of the Scottish Music Industry Association said: “Best of luck to each of the Shortlisted albums. It’s with great pride that through The SAY Award we can shine a light on truly incredible pieces of artistic works that play a key part in our cultural identity as a nation.”

The final list reads as follows:

Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
C Duncan – Health
Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
Free Love – Luxury Hits
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson – Laws of Motion
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
Mastersystem – Dance Music (winner of the public vote)

More at