news – all the indie-schmindie happenings

7th September 2019

Auntie Flo’s ‘Radio Highlife’ has been announced as the winner of the Scottish Album of the Year Award. (more…)

read more ...
20th August 2019

Legendary Glasgow shop Missing Records is moving to larger premises (more…)

read more ...
15th August 2019

The shortlist of albums still eligible to win the Scottish Album of the Year has been announced. (more…)

read more ...
13th August 2019

The future of Inverness music venue The Ironworks could be in jeopardy (more…)

read more ...
13th August 2019

Scottish music fans can now vote for their favourite albums on the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award Longlist. (more…)

read more ...
31st July 2019

Tributes have been paid to the owner of a Dundee record shop Grouchos following his untimely death. (more…)

read more ...
31st July 2019

Shirley Manson, Aidan Moffat & RM Hubbert, Wet Wet Wet’s Tommy Cunningham, and Kathryn Joseph will feature in a new eight-part BBC Radio Scotland show. (more…)

read more ...
29th July 2019

Paolo Nutini has bought the Chewbacca mask worn by Lewis Capaldi on stage at the recent TRNSMT festival. (more…)

read more ...
27th July 2019

Previous winners Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert, and Kathryn Joseph, plus The Twilight Sad and Edwyn Collins, and are among the Scottish indie acts in the running for the Scottish Album of the Year Award.

Also on the list of 20 long players from the 2018-19 tax year are Carla J. Easton, Chvrches, Free Love, Andrew Wasylyk, Auntie Flo, Karine Polwart, Free Love, and Mastersystem, featuring the final work of Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchison.

The longlist was announced at Edinburgh’s Queen’s Hall, at an event which featured previous nominees Kobi Onyame, a new collaboration between Idlewild’s Rod Jones and Modern Studies, and C Duncan, who also made the 20-strong list with his latest album ‘Health’, released earlier in 2019.

Also still in the running are acts from a variety of musical genres from around the country, including representations from the jazz, folk and classical world.

These 20 releases will be narrowed down to a shortlist of 10 – 9 selected by a judging panel and one by a public vote over three days from August 12th, and the winner will be selected from this 10 at the capital’s Assembly Rooms on Friday 6th September.

The full list reads, in alphabetical order:

1. Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
2. Aidan O’Rourke – 365: Vol. 1
3. Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
4. Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
5. Brìghde Chaimbeul – The Reeling
6. C Duncan – Health
7. Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
8. CHVRCHES – Love Is Dead
9. Edwyn Collins – Badbea
10. Fatherson – Sum Of All Your Parts
11. Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
12. Free Love – Luxury Hits
13. Graham Costello’s Strata – Obelisk
14. Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson– Laws of Motion
15. Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
16. Kinnaris Quintet – Free One
17. Mastersystem – Dance Music
18. Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là
19. Sean Shibe – softLOUD
20. The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time

More at

read more ...
17th July 2019

Snow Patrol’s ‘Chasing Cars’ has been named the most-played song of the 21st century. (more…)

read more ...

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

Enter email:


Follow Jockrock