Teenage Fanclub’s Norman Blake has teamed up with Pernice Brothers’ Joe Pernice to record a six-track EP, the ‘Australia 2013 EP’.

Living in Toronto in 2012, Blake was reunited with Pernice, who he’d previously met when working with Pernice Brothers’ drummer Patrick Berkley, that pair having worked with Norwegian band, I Was A King in 2012. The newly-formed duo added Mike Belisky of The Sadies on drums, and are currently recording a debut album together for release in early 2014.

The EP contains an INXS cover, and ‘covers’ of Teenage Fanclub’s ‘I Don’t Want Control Of You’ and The Pernice Brothers ‘Amazing Glow’.
Tracklisting is: 1. This Time (Andrew Farriss) 2. Follow You Down (The New Mendicants) 3. High on the Skyline (The New Mendicants) 4. I Don’t Want Control Of You (Blake) 5. Amazing Glow (Pernice) 6. Sarasota (The New Mendicants)

The EP is out on One Little Indian on July 8th.

The New Mendicants bring a two-man show (Norman & Joe) to the UK in July:

7th Dublin, Whelans www.tickets.ie
8th Cambridge, Cambridge Portland Arms
9th Bristol, Colston Hall 2
10th London, The Lexington
11th Nottingham, The Glee
12th Birmingham, The Glee
13th Manchester, Deaf Institute
14th Hebden Bridge, Trades Club
15th Glasgow, Mono