Frightened Rabbit‘s fifth album, and second major label release, is scheduled for release on April 8th.

‘Painting Of A Panic Attack’ was produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner, and recorded at Dessner’s Brooklyn studio, where he recorded The National’s ‘High Violet’ and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’, last summer. The album also features newest recruit, former Olympic Swimmer and touring guitarist Simon Liddell.

Scott Hutchinson has said of the 12-track long-player that he had intended to write a concept album about the “she” and “he” mentioned in ‘Lump Street’ (below) and it would act as a follow-up of sorts to ‘State Hospital’ “The songs would chart these two souls and their attempts to escape from Lump Street, ultimately only ever fleeing in their imagination – see ‘Die Like A Rich Boy’ for more on this notion,” he said.
“But then my life strolled by and brought some of its own material, so the concept album was abandoned, gladly. Maybe next time…”

The band also play a short UK tour:
April 12th: Manchester Academy 2
April 13th: DunfermlineAlhambra
April 14th: London St John at Hackney Church

And the band have a flurry of instores (and signings):
Friday 8th April – HMV Glasgow Argyle, 6pm (full band show) – pre-ordering the album will get you a wristband for the instore.
Saturday 9th April – HMV Aberdeen, 4pm (acoustic, first come first served)
Sunday 10th April – Mound Music Edinburgh, 3pm (acoustic, first come first served)
Monday 11th April – HMV Manchester, 5.15pm (acoustic, first come first served)

• Death Dream
• Get Out
• I Wish I Was Sober
• Woke Up Hurting
• Little Drum
• Still Want To Be Here
• An Otherwise Disappointing Life
• Break
• Blood Under The Bridge
• 400 Bones
• Lump Street
• Die Like A Rich Boy